Commissioner of Oaths

Last Updated Thursday, May 23, 2019 12:54:46 PM

The Minister or any of his authorised officers is empowered to appoint any person as a Commissioner of Oaths, including any person designated by the Minister as an ex officio Commissioner of Oaths. Members (CA(SA)s) and associates (AGA(SA)s) of SAICA are designated as ex officio Commissioners of Oaths and therefore entitled to exercise the powers granted in the Act.



  • Justices of the Peace and Commissioners of Oaths Act 16 of 1963 (41Kb PDF)


  • Designation of Commissioner of Oaths in terms of Section 6 (122Kb PDF)
  • Regulations Governing the Administering  an oath or affirmation (21Kb PDF)