Members in Business Committee

Last Updated Thursday, February 12, 2015 03:28:19 PM

Members in Business Committee:

Current information shows that more than 50% of SAICA members in the Eastern Region are employed in Commerce and Industry. The Members in Business seek to represent these Chartered Accountants by ensuring that SAICA takes heed of and addresses their concerns and also hosts relevant events.

The committee consists of members from various industries and backgrounds.

The committee's recent activities include:

  • Involvement in various submissions – for example, the revised Companies Act,
  • Discussions on the new training model, competency framework and the revised CPD programme; and
  • Discussion on various current economic trends i.e. financial crisis and KZN economic growth report.
  • Facilitation of business breakfasts and armchair discussions in the region.
  • Actively support and promote its members' needs within SAICA.
  • Identify, discuss and facilitate the resolution of issues of regional interest and importance.
  • Uphold the integrity and standards of the profession.
  • Facilitate and encourage membership involvement in the institute and lobby the interests.
  • Research emerging world trends in reporting and financial governance.
  • Ensure and support transformation initiatives and ensure that our objectives are in line.

The Members in Business committee for 2014/2015 comprises of the following members:

  MIB Committee  
Mark Stirton
Andrew Westermeyer
Aruna Baijnath
Dave Hooper (Chairperson)
Dave Kneebone
Fred Akal
Gordon Murray
Harish Ramsumer
Keith Flack (Vice - Chairman)
Louise Nair
Mark Banks
Mohamed Essa
Samir Mistry
Thomas Woods
Yusuf Vawda
Zain Mitha

See available vacancies on this committee (100Kb PDF)

Terms and Conditions | FAQ's | Contact Us | Sitemap
Copyright 2008 SAICA | NPO Registration Number : 020-050-NPO
This site is best viewed with Microsoft Internet Explorer 7 in 1024x768 screen resolution