Accountancy Profession Transformation & Education Committee (APTEC)

Last Updated Friday, May 29, 2015 09:30:52 AM

Accountancy Profession Transformation & Education Committee (APTEC)

The primary role of the committee is to facilitate the entry of designated groups, as defined by the Employment Equity Act, into the profession through the implementation of equity development projects so as to ensure that the membership of SAICA will eventually reflect the demographics of the South African population. The committee delivers on its mandate through specific interventions at each and every level as described in the diagram below:

The committee's recent activities include:

  • To implement national policy within the region.
  • To provide feedback to the national committee on activities in the region.
  • To embrace the terms of reference of the national committee and to ensure their implementation.
  • To find ways of accelerating the entry of blacks into the profession in whatever form this may require.
  • Liaison with ABASA to ensure that there is no duplication in efforts to achieve common goals.
  • To ensure that suitably qualified members are nominated to serve on the national committee.

The APTEC committee has representation from the University of KwaZulu-Natal.

The APTEC committee for 2014/2015 comprises of the following members:



Name District
Hopewell Mpungose Chairman / Ngubane & Company
Ahmed Timol Grant Thornton
Jane Oliva EY
Feroza Joossub Durban University of Technology (DUT)
Tania Marti-Warren PKF
Kim Peddie Deloitte
Kimmy Singh Deloitte / Council
Prof Mark Livingstone University of Zululand
Nirakasha Sookraj SACD Freight / AWCA Representative
Prof Phil Stegen University of KwaZulu- Natal
Sipho Phakathi ABASA
Navin Ramlagan


Paul Fay KPMG
Yusuf  Kadwa A2A Kopano Incorporated
Naeem Asvat SAICA Regional Executive
Gugu Makhanya SAICA Project Director: Transformation & Growth
Lethu Mkhize SAICA Project Manager: Transformation & Growth
Adri Kleinhans SAICA Project Director: Professional Development Training
Langelihle Hlengwa ABASA
Taneill Blankfield- Smith KPMG HR Manager
Jeremy Beukes EY HR Manager
Raksha Sanichur Deloitte HR Manager
Bronwen Brotherhood PKF HR Manager
Bronwyn Kemp AGSA
Melanie Lamberti PWC HR Manager
Taruna Bramdaw Committee Assistant